Hello and welcome to today’s spooktacular post!! Anyone else pining for fall to begin? It is one of our favorite seasons here at KatDoesDisney. The changing leaves, pumpkin spiced food and drink, bonfires, and cooler weather is just calling our names! Believe it or not, this glorious season had a kick start in Disney World this week. Let’s talk about the new Disney After Hours Boo Bash in Magic Kingdom!

What is it?

The After Hours Boo Bash is a new event this year that is replacing Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween party. This is a special ticketed event that includes Halloween-themed cavalcades, character sightings, specialty food and drink options, as well as trick-or-treating around Magic Kingdom! After Hours Boo Bash differs from Mickey’s Not-So-Scary in that there is no parade or character meet-and-greets (in keeping with COVID safety guidelines).

Additionally, tickets are limited, so guests can enjoy popular Magic Kingdom attractions with little to no wait time! Ticket holders can also enjoy complimentary ice cream novelties, popcorn, select beverages, and candy from the trick-or-treat trails!

When is it?

This event takes place select evenings in Magic Kingdom! It started on August 10th and will run through October 31st. Ticket holders are able to enter the park at 7:oo PM, when regular day guests are still in there. The special festivities begin on 9:00 PM or 9:30 PM (depending upon the date) and will run until midnight or 12:30 AM, respectively. Here are the dates and times directly from the Disney website:

Disney After Hours Boo Bash takes place from 9:30 PM to 12:30 AM on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, August 10, 2021
  • Tuesday, August 17, 2021
  • Friday, August 20, 2021
  • Tuesday, August 24, 2021
  • Friday, August 27, 2021
  • Tuesday, August 31, 2021
  • Friday, September 3, 2021
  • Sunday, September 5, 2021

Disney After Hours Boo Bash takes place from 9:00 PM to midnight on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, September 7, 2021
  • Friday, September 10, 2021
  • Sunday, September 12, 2021
  • Tuesday, September 14, 2021
  • Friday, September 17, 2021
  • Sunday, September 19, 2021
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021
  • Friday, September 24, 2021
  • Tuesday, October 5, 2021
  • Friday, October 8, 2021
  • Sunday, October 10, 2021
  • Tuesday, October 12, 2021
  • Friday, October 15, 2021
  • Sunday, October 17, 2021
  • Tuesday, October 19, 2021
  • Friday, October 22, 2021
  • Sunday, October 24, 2021
  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021
  • Friday, October 29, 2021
  • Sunday, October 31, 2021

How much is a ticket?

Tickets are anywhere from $129 to $199 USD for adults and children. The cheaper dates are in August and September. So, in general, the closer to Halloween, the more expensive the ticket will be. Annual Passholders and Disney Vacation Club Members can receive a $10 USD discount for event dates in August and September. Keep in mind, a regular day ticket or annual pass and Disney Park Pass theme park reservation are NOT required.

Here is a great video from one of our favorite YouTubers, Paging Mr. Morrow!

IS IT WORTH IT??

Ok, so now you know what After Hours Boo Bash entails, the biggest question is… Is this worth it?! Let’s take a look at our pros and cons:

After Hours Boo Bash Pros

  • Less wait times on popular rides in Magic Kingdom
  • See specialty characters and cavalcades
  • Enjoy complimentary select snacks and drinks
  • Go trick-or-treating
  • Attend the event dressed up (but be sure to follow the guidelines!)

After Hours Boo Bash Cons

  • Expensive!
  • Not all specialty food and drinks are included (the Instagram worthy options are available for purchase!)
  • Only 3 hours long
  • Select dates may not align with vacation schedule

All in all, it really is up to you whether it is worth it. Regardless of what you decide, you’re bound to have a great, magical time on your next Disney World vacation!

We hope you have a boo-tiful day!

Until next time… Cheers!!!